Navigation

Library

“When in doubt go to the library”. Hermione Granger

The John Roan School has two well-stocked libraries that cater for all year groups. The libraries stock a wide range of fiction and non-fiction materials giving our students the opportunity to read for pleasure and have the resources needed to complete coursework and homework.

Both libraries run a packed schedule of fun-filled reading based events to inspire our students. In the past academic year the libraries have celebrated National Poetry Day with a Poetry Party, and held Library Taskmaster and Hunger Games events. The libraries have lots of new fun activities planned throughout the year including events for Halloween and World Book Day.

The John Roan libraries also organise regular author visits, and in the past year we have an inspirational visits from Matt Dickinson, Philip Womack, Ruth Eastham and many more… Author visits are a wonderful opportunity for the students to meet a published author, listen to them speak and work with them in creative writing workshops.

Maze Hill Library
EDr983sWwAAepkf (2)


The Maze Hill library was recently refurbished and is open before school, every break and every lunchtime, and many of our pupils enjoy the opportunity to relax in pleasant surroundings.  The students can use our computers for homework or revision, play board games, catch up on the news, or borrow books. Maze Hill also offers a host of lunchtime activities including: Harry Potter Night, Non-fiction Taskmaster and Murder in the Library. After school there is a daily Achievement Club to provide students with additional support with their homework.

MONDAY: 8:00 – 3:45

TUESDAY: 8:00 – 3:45

WEDNESDAY: 8:00 – 3:45

THURSDAY: 8:00 – 3:45

FRIDAY: 8:00 – 3:45


Westcombe Park Library
Westcombe Park Library

The Westcombe Park library opens before school, and at break and lunchtime to allow our KS4 students the opportunity to study for their GCSEs modern surroundings – the students can use one of the networked computers, catch up on the news in the papers or borrow books. There is a wide selection of magazines and study guides for students, as well as the opportunity to do Zen colouring when they need a break from studying.

MONDAY: 8:00-2:00

TUESDAY: 8:00-2:00

WEDNESDAY: 8:00-2:00

THURSDAY: 8:00-2:00

FRIDAY: 8:00-2:00

 

The Library Goes Virtual

During a strange time when you can’t access the school library as normal, there are still ways that you can get involved with the library and our activities.

Poetry Readings

Some teachers have read some poems for you to enjoy. Which one is your favourite?


Virtual Author Visit

On Tuesday 7th July with Caroline Lawrence- author for crime and historical fiction (perfect for fans of Sharna Jackson and Robin Stevens). 


The Book Guess Who Challenge

Each day we will be posting a clue about a famous book character on the library twitter page. The first was I am male.


Virtual Creative Writing Club

Every Tuesday lunchtime we are holding a Creative Writing Club via Skype. It was really fun last time and it was really nice to see everyone.

Virtual Book Group

Every Thursday lunchtime we're holding a skype Book Club. I've got a book quiz with extra challenges.

Home delivered book packs

We're arranging book packs with a new library books for you that could either be picked up from school, or the librarians can drop off. All you need to do is give us some ideas about the authors and books you like.
 

Latest News

View all news